Login To System

About IPA

Visited Count : 676
Publish Date : 7/10/2018

Iranian Psychiatric Association

Iranian Psychiatric Association (IPA) was founded in 1966 in Tehran as a nongovernmental organization (NGO). The organization was one of the most active medical associations in the country till 1986, when it was discontinued due to some sociopolitical changes in Iran. In 1996, IPA began its work again.  IPA works as a platform to bring together Iranian psychiatrists through participatory approach and support them to increase their scientific and technical knowledge in the area, promote mental health in the society, fight against stigma of mental illness and pursue the dignity and rights of people with mental illness. IPA follows an evidence-based approach, develops guidelines for management of clinical conditions, contributes to research and training of psychiatrists at the national level and highlights their important role in all of the above mentioned endeavors.

Currently there are more than 1700 psychiatrists in Iran. The central executive board is composed of seven members, which are selected in an election held during one of the annual national congresses of psychiatry. The members are elected by blind votes for 3 years. Currently, members of the executive board are:

President: Maryam Rasoulian
Vice-President: Mohammad Taghi Yasamy
Secretary General: Homayoun Amini
Treasurer: Amir Shabani

Other executive members: Ahmad Jalili, Mehdi Nasr Esfhani, Mohammad Ali Hemmati

Scrutineer: Mohamad Reza Khodaei Ardakani

In each province of the country with a minimum of 10 psychiatrists, a regional branch can be established through an election under the supervision of the executive board members. Currently, there are 12 regional branches throughout the country.

A number of executive or scientific committees are supervised by the executive board of IPA. These regional branches and executive or scientific committees suggest strategic plans to promote national education and research in the field of psychiatry. There are also specific committees to help the early career psychiatrists and psychiatry residents.

IPA scientific committees include Addiction, Biological Therapies, child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Destigmatization and Media, Ethics and Forensic Psychiatry, Geriatric Psychiatry, Literature and Psychiatry, Military Psychiatry, Mood Disorders, Neuropsychiatry, Psychosomatic Medicine, Psychotherapy, Sexual Health, Social and Community Psychiatry, Suicide Prevention, and Urban Mental Health.

- Annual meetings:

  • Holding the annual national congress
  • Multidisciplinary thematic conferences related to specific committees (2 or 3 times per year)
  • Educational conferences for continued medical education of general practitioners and psychiatrists (4 or 5 times per year)
  • Other training courses for general practitioners (2 or 3 times per year)

- Awarding prizes for outstanding residents of psychiatry or young psychiatrists

- Contributing to the development of the Ethical Code in Psychiatry

- Contributing to planning and offering training to mental health professionals

- Participation in WPA  scientific meetings (so far 65 members of the association have participated in       

  more than twenty international meetings)

- Contributing to national level mental health policy making

- Preparing and proposing a new version of Mental Health ACT (under review by the parliament)
- Publication of a newsletter, which includes psychiatric news, interviews with outstanding psychiatrists, and highlights of scientific articles in the field (4 issues per year)


Source :
Post Comment
Name :
Email :
Comment :
Post Comment
Member Comments